a Taj MuttHall Dog Diary: USDAA Rules


This page includes:

USDAA Top Ten Rules

From the USDAA 2011 rulebook (including the apparently missing words--or, rather, excluding them):

To measure competitiveness within each Masters and Level III individual competitive class (i.e., standard, gamblers, jumpers, snooker and tournaments classes) shall be awarded points based upon the actual number of dogs competing in the class for the number of placements indicated below:

2 - 311
4 - 51, 2 3, 1
6 - 101, 2, 35, 3, 1
11 - 201, 2, 3, 47, 5, 3, 1
21 - 301, 2, 3, 4, 59, 7, 5, 3, 1

*For each additional group of ten dogs competing in a height class, one additional placement shall be awarded, with each placement receiving two (2) additional points.

The top ten competitors in each height division of each class who have met the minimum point requirements established for the award will be ranked each calendar year and awarded honors in the Agility Top TenSM and Performance Top TenSM in the Championship and Performance Programs, respectively, for each of the four title classes and collectively for all tournament classes.

January 2012, per Regional Top Ten page on the Subscriber site, " A minimum of ten points is required to receive annual Top Ten recognition in the USDAA Hall of Fame. Ties are broken by calculating the highest average points per event."

Jump Height Requirements, Spreads Jump lengths, and YPS ranges for SCT calculations

See Memorizing Numbers--or Not.

USDAA DAM Team Scoring:

For a team to Q, their total points over 5 events (4 individual plus relay) must be within 25% of the average of the top 3 teams and (effective for the 2012 season and beyond) be at least a certain minimum number of points. So, not only must your team do OK, but the top three teams must not do SO much better that they knock out a lot of the lower-scoring teams. From the USDAA news post: "Team must earn at least 75% of the points earned by an average of the top three teams*, or 850 points, whichever is greater. In Performance Versatility Pairs, the same standard applies, except that the minimum requirement is 566.67 points."

(*The regulations require 75% of just the top team when entry numbers are small. See tournament regulations for complete details.)

Points are gathered like this:
  • Standard: Each dog has 130 points. An E loses all 130 points. Otherwise, dog's time and faults are subtracted.
  • Jumpers: Each dog has 120 points. An E loses all 120; otherwise, time and faults subtracted.
  • Gamblers and Snooker: The judge assigns a factor for the points, usually something like 1.2. Multiply your points earned by that factor.
  • Team Relay: The team starts with 300 points (2-dog performance) or 450 points (3-dog championship). If a dog Es, subtract 150 points. Then at the end subtract the team's relay time and other faults.
In short, it's very bad to E in Standard and very very bad to E in relay. Sometimes teams are separated by fewer than 10 points going into the relay, so losing 150 points in the relay is a Really Big Deal.

No comments:

Post a Comment